Baked eggs with greens and goat cheese

Previously I have mentioned in my post on “My mum’s egg white omelet with sautéed  veggies ” how difficult it was for me to eat egg as a child. Well I know parents like feeding their kids good wholesome breakfast with some proteins, carbs and fats in the appropriate proportions. Hence I can imagine why mother disguised the eggs with homemade french fries, peas and onions that I slowly started liking what I saw on my plate. I like to think it was the distinct egg smell that created the egg aversion in me.

These days I add lots of ingredients in my eggs  – spinach, herbs, carrots, bell peppers, scallions, beans, chick peas, etc. Call it a fluffy omelet with veggies or a frittata or an egg bake – the idea behind them all is to the toss veggies, beat your eggs fluffy and then season with herbs, salt and pepper .

So here we made a simple egg bake with lots of greens. It all started when my husband wanted an egg bake for dinner. Rather his words were “frittata kinda thing with kale, brocco (as in broccoli), goat cheese and egg whites”.  Now I like kale in soups, pastas, juices and salads. However I had not really used it with egg (although online I have read countless posts on eggs + kale). Looking around I found Naturally Ella’s post on “Base Recipe : Frittata” , where she mentions a few combinations to play around with the ingredients while making an egg frittata. So kale was there and so was broccoli as well as goat cheese.  Keeping these in mind here goes the egg bake that was created for dinner.

The end result was creamy yet firmly packed with proteins, good fats, fiber, anti-oxidants and is gluten-free making it a super healthy and tasty dinner. The flavors were all intact and it was quick and easy to put together . It can be whipped up easily for breakfast during the morning rush-hour or for dinner during those weeknights when you really don’t feel like an elaborate meal to do.

kale egg bake (1)

Ingredients:

2 full free range eggs

4 egg whites

Bunch of kale leaves*

1 small broccoli floret

2 cloves of garlic

1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika

A handful of chopped scallions or spring onions

Chopped coriander leaves to beat in the eggs

Salt to taste

Freshly ground black pepper

1 spoon low-fat cottage cheese

Goat cheese (quantity depending how much you want to spread over to bake )

Olive Oil

kale egg bake (3)

Remove the hard ribbed portion of the kale leaves. Then chop the kale leaves as finely as possible as you require. Cut the broccoli floret into smaller pieces. In a non-stick pan saute the broccoli , crushed garlic cloves and kale in olive oil. Add in a little water , smoked paprika and a pinch of salt. Cover the lid and let them cook in the steam for about 5-7 min.

While the greens are cooking in the steam, whisk all eggs with salt, black pepper, low-fat cottage cheese and coriander until fluffy. Once the kale + brocco is semi-soft , use a baking tin/pan and spread the veggies at the base. Then sprinkle the chopped spring onions. Finally pour in the whisked eggs mixtures over the spring onions. Crumble goat cheese on top. Bake in a preheated oven at 200 degree centigrade for 17-20 min until the eggs look cooked and firm. You can do the tooth pick test.

Once baked cut into triangular pieces and serve!

*I used the Dinosaur Kale leaves and I am able to find them at Nature’s Glory here in Singapore.

kale egg bake (2)

