Spiced Apple Muffins

“An apple a day keeps the doctor away” – Alright I am neither trying to get you to eat apples nor am I am trying to be a self -proclaimed doctor.  Since the next post talks about apples, just thought of this quote we did learn as children and decided to use it here 🙂 (However I do love apples and eat them very regularly).

Anyway I tried making some muffins over the weekend.  I love spices especially cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves kinda spices, the more nutty ones. Hence I like them in my food, my coffee and my desserts. So I had been researching on different apple cakes, spiced muffins, cinnamon rolls, pumpkin pies all over the internet. So I decided to make my own version of apple “spice” muffins with variations of my research.

Of course I used apples – actually cubed them into smaller pieces, poured some honey over them and baked them for about 15 min. The sugar from the fruit as well as the honey resulted in me using lesser brown sugar in the batter of the muffins.

The baked apples:

In addition, I also used some buckwheat flour along with the all-purpose flour for baking. This is something I like to do in muffins – sometimes I mix wheat flour and sometimes I could mix oat bran and in this case mixed it with buckwheat. Although buckwheat is very strong flour and it is very predominant in the food, just using little of it gives a nice nutty feeling that I really like.

The buckwheat and all-purpose flour:

Also I decided not to use eggs, so these muffins are vegetarian. To make it vegan, I guess one could use vegan butter or almond butter instead of the normal unsalted butter I used (Since that is perhaps the only non-vegan ingredient in this recipe I guess).

Butter and sugar whisked together:

I am not professing this to be a healthy recipe – It uses butter and sugar and all-purpose flour. However since you make it at home you are controlling what goes inside the food and hence inside your body. Also what I have learnt is that if you start off with smaller adjustments – like using a little buckwheat instead of only using all- purpose flour, baking your own apples, using fresh spices and making it according to your own preferences it makes a world of a difference.  And of course that feeling of “feeling good about myself” 🙂 🙂

Ingredients (made 12 muffins as seen below):

150 grams all-purpose flour

100 grams buckwheat flour

180 grams powdered brown sugar (If using more honey reduce the brown sugar quantity)

200 grams unsalted butter (I could have used lesser butter so yes if you want to cut down on it, you can use less)

3 apples peeled and cut into cubes

1 spoon honey to bake the apples

½ teaspoon cinnamon powder

½ teaspoon nutmeg powder

½ teaspoon grated ginger

½ teaspoon salt

½ lime squeezed for its juice

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 cup chopped almonds

Mix all the dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Separately whisk together the melted butter, brown sugar and vanilla extract. Bake the apples and honey in the oven while whisking the butter and sugar. Once done mix the baked apples, butter sugar mixture with the dry ingredients for a while. Then take a muffin tray with your muffin paper cups and fill them up  half with the batter. Pre-heat the oven. Also sprinkle the chopped almonds on top of the muffins batter before putting them in the oven to bake. Next bake for about 25-30 min at 180 degree centigrade.  You know they are cooked once your tooth pick comes out dry. Cool them once done and serve with coffee or tea.

Before putting them in the oven:

And once they were removed after baking:

Enjoy the warm moist muffins with some tea or coffee:

3 thoughts on “Spiced Apple Muffins

Leave a Reply

