Merry X’mas in the Tropics – The Orange Thimble Cafe

I love the holiday feeling that has taken over the blogging space – with so many incredible posts, photography and holiday food recipes – I have been overwhelmed reading them. Thank you everyone for sharing all these wonderful posts.

So I decided to share what’s happening during the holiday season in this part of the world and by that I mean Singapore. Of course the entire city is illuminated with beautiful lights and Christmas trees, everyone is out shopping, dining and making merry. We do not have a white Christmas (we are in tropical warm Singapore 🙂 ), hence it is “X’mas in the Tropics” for us. Although I must admit that we do have a very merry holiday feeling all over.

Hence here I go exploring another one of the quaint cafes in Singapore that really impressed me with the beautiful decor, the mellow Christmas lights and candles and the relaxed feeling in there. This is “Orange Thimble” located in the by-lanes of Tiong Bahru area in Singapore. My husband and I strolled over the other night and decided to have a quiet dinner. This is an art cafe where they do feature lots of work by new and upcoming artists – photography, paintings, music.

the orange thimble (8)

 

 

the orange thimble (14)

I could sit here for hours sipping on a hot cuppa, reading a book and escape all my worries, to-do lists, chores etc for the day 🙂 It has a very relaxing vibe all around. And now regarding the food – The food is average (atleast they use fresh, flavorful and wholesome ingredients). Not too much variety – they have a few sandwiches and all day breakfast on weekends. The usual desserts, truffles, coffees and flavored teas.

the orange thimble (13)

 

We tried the miss portobello (mushroom burger) that I really liked:

the orange thimble (10)

Also the garden veggies with chicken on walnut toast (yeah I know the chicken looks like fries  but it wasn’t fried :))

the orange thimble (11)

Sipped on a caramel macchiato:

the orange thimble (9)

And indulged in a slice of  Hazelnut Dacquoise (Highly recommended. Notice the crust is not a pie pastry. Not sure what the exact ingredients were but it is actually like a thin semolina cake )

the orange thimble (12)

Location:

56 Eng Hoon Street #01-68, Singapore 160056

Tel: +65 6223 8068

Nearest MRT would be Outram Park, about a km walk. I believe they are open Tue – Sun 11 am to 10 pm

 

And to end with a few pics depicting abstract forms of art here. Merry X’mas all my fellow bloggers, family, friends and everyone else reading this around the world!!

the orange thimble (2)

 

 

the orange thimble (3)

 

 

the orange thimble (4)

the orange thimble (5)

 

the orange thimble (6)

 

the orange thimble (1)

6 thoughts on “Merry X’mas in the Tropics – The Orange Thimble Cafe

    1. Thank you 🙂 And I loved your garden adventures as well – me Living in a city and unable to enjoy such luxuries (sigh!). Hopefully some day I am atleast able to have a small garden with a few of my favorites planted there 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

