Baked Pasta in Kale Sauce

First let me take a moment and wish everyone – family , friends, fellow bloggers, chefs, reader-who -just-chanced-upon-this-page – a very happy and prosperous 2013! May your skin glow, your happiness increase, your wealth increase, your job get more interesting, your mortgages disappear, your health peak and all that you have resolved to achieve be achieved πŸ™‚ But on a serious note wishing everyone all the success and I want to thank each one of you for reading my blog and posting such cheerful comments. I enjoy reading all the blogs that I follow every morning and I cannot tell you how it has become something that I cannot do without each day – Just like a morning cup of coffee πŸ™‚ So bring on more wonderful and engaging posts 2013.

Now reading the title of my post , some will think I am turning into a nut. Pasta is cheesy and creamy and not filled with Kale. But hear me out. I have retained the creaminess in this dish (owing to the sauce and grating some cheese on top)and it did turn out tasty. My friends were not aware I used Kale in it since it was nicely blended in with the chili, herbs, onions and olive oil πŸ™‚

Those of you who are unaware , Kale is something that is not found in the common grocery stores in Singapore (sigh). So I went hunting for it and finally found it in a specialty organic store where they get it regularly from Australia. So I am glad about my latest discovery. So of course I decided to replace spinach with kale (Message for Spinach: SeriouslyΒ I use Spinach normally but this time decided to use Kale. I have not forgotten you and you are just being replaced this one time to try out one of my recipe experiments πŸ™‚ )

kale pasta (1)

Ingredients:

A bunch of Kale
7 cloves of garlic crushed (I love the garlicky flavor πŸ™‚ )
1 medium onion chopped
1 green chilli
1 teaspoon of dried Italian herbs
2 spoons of olive oil
salt to taste
Pasta (I used an organic ribbon pasta of durum wheat that contained spices, saffron and red chilli flakes which added a great flavor)
Cheese to sprinkle on top of your choice (I like a good quality Parmesan)

kale pasta (2)

In a deep non-stick pan heat the olive oil.Saute the garlic, dried Italian herbs, chilli and onion until the onions turn translucent.Β Steam the Kale separately (so it is semi cooked) and then add it in the olive oil mixture and saute it for a few minutes. Blend the mixture to form a sauce and add in water and salt to get the desired consistency. Separately, semi-cook the pasta in boiling water. Pour the pasta and sauce in a baking dish and mix. Grate some good quality cheese of your choice over the dish. Bake for about 10 min. Serve with garlic bread. Enjoy !!

kale pasta (3)

6 thoughts on “Baked Pasta in Kale Sauce

Leave a Reply

