Surprises @ Home – Stuffed Peppers with a Sweet Potato mash and Swiss Chard side

Who does not like surprises? I really don’t think there is anyone who does not. So no guessing here – my joy had no bounds when I get home with a headache of the to-do lists in mind, thinking of food, thinking of what could be nutritious and quick to make at the same time and then I see a nice plated up meal for me. See what the husband has done – He has a lovely warm meal and his smile awaiting me 🙂 All of a sudden the headaches are gone and there is a sudden rush of emotions gushing through my head – love, joy, excitement, thankfulness, gratitude – and I feel I am a little giddy with a little bit of all of them 🙂 . Don’t get me wrong – I enjoy cooking and baking and learning and exploring new ideas and foods. I like to challenge myself to prepare something tasty and healthy (which I must admit I sucked at forever and it took me a long long time to learn). But this evening it was different. Guess I was having one of those not-so-good days and one of those what-to-cook-for-dinner-days 🙂

The below recipe has been published after approval from its innovator which I must admit was fabulous.  Such wonderful flavors turned me into a glutton – fennel seeds in mashed sweet potatoes, semolina stuffed peppers served with garlicky swiss chard (have I told you I love garlic ? I think I have expressed it in my numerous posts) along with a concoction of different dried herbs. I couldn’t ask for more.

stuffed peppers (4)

Ingredients:

For the stuffed bell peppers:

2 medium sized bell peppers of the color you like
1 cup semolina
1/2 cup mixed veggies (Used frozen)
1/2 teaspoon paprika powder
1/2 teaspoon red chilli flakes
7- 8 cloves  of garlic crushed
1 medium onion chopped
1/2 teaspoon dry oregano
Olive oil

2 cups water

In a non stick pan add in olive oil and then the spices – garlic, onions, paprika, red chilli flakes and oregano. Cook until the onions turn translucent. Then add in the frozen veggies and cook them. Separately dry roast the semolina until it browns. Once the frozen veggies are cooked add in the roasted semolina and water. Keep stirring until the water dries. It becomes sort of  like porridge. Adding too m uch water will make it sticky so balance it out.  Cool the mix for a while. Take bell peppers of your choice and scoop out the seeds to make a hollow cavity. Stuff in the semolina mixture. Then either roast them in the oven or pan-fry them on the stove until the skin of the peppers is charred a bit.

For the sweet potato mash:
Sweet potatoes boiled and mashed (Used 2 tubers)
2 teaspoons dry fennel seeds
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon powder
2 tablespoons low-fat milk
1/2 teaspoon unsalted butter

In a non stick pan heat the butter and add in the fennel seeds and cinnamon powder. Then add in the mashed potatoes, salt and low-fat milk. Stir for a few minutes until everything mixed well. Add in more milk if you want the mash to be thinner.

For the Swiss Chard side:

A bunch of swiss chard chopped
few cloves of garlic crushed
1 medium onion sliced
Salt to taste
Olive oil

This is a basic side where you heat the olive oil in a pan. Add in the crushed garlic , onions and chard and saute until the chard leaves wilt.

stuffed peppers (5)

stuffed peppers (2)

6 thoughts on “Surprises @ Home – Stuffed Peppers with a Sweet Potato mash and Swiss Chard side

Leave a Reply

